top of page

Week One


Two weeks ago I decided to take the leap and see what it takes to become a filmmaker. In just a couple of days I have discovered it is action being the separator between an aspiring dreamer (like I was,) and a person who makes films. You just have to start doing it.

In my case it was putting pen to paper-dragging those long dormant story ideas kicking and screaming to the forefront of my mind, and engaging them in a way to make them tangible; an actual film possibility.

Having a background in writing, be it novels, poems, short stories or scripts, I'd always assumed I would end up making a career of it. As I got older and my thirst for films got stronger I began paying attention to the other roles people played in making a film. I became particularly obsessed with directors and their own styles and ideas they brought to the screen. It's now my ultimate dream to write and direct my own films, and make a career out of it.

My biggest inspiration as a writer would be the Australian writer, actor, producer and director Leigh Whannell. As a horror movie enthusiast, I'm always searching for new, scarier films; that will actually stay with me and make me think. (Possibly give me nightmares, but I always see that as a success of the film.) Being drawn to tension-filled, comedy-tinged and supernatural themed movies, I noticed that a few of my favorites had some elements in common, due to the writing and overall tone of the film. Upon researching I discovered they were all written (and often produced and acted in) by Leigh Whannell, teaming up with my favorite horror director James Wan. The way their movies build upon tension is something that I really aspire to recreate in a film of my own one day.

When it comes to software (especially when it comes to software's used in editing and screen graphics,) I find I really have to apply myself, and find all the information, tips and tricks I possibly can in order for me to properly understand it enough to use it successfully. To put it plainly, I'm quite technologically challenged. I had absolutely zero prior knowledge coming into the screen graphics and editing class, yet I'm confident with enough study and repeatedly watching tutorials I'll be able to apply at least a basic knowledge to using the software.

The skills I will be learning in this class I believe are vital to any would-be filmmakers education, as I think having a fundamental knowledge of all aspects in making a film would benefit any person on a film making crew.

Personally, I would love to be able to confidently edit together any footage without help, I feel it further my abilities in all other aspects of film making.

The kinds of stories I'd like to tell would be of the human condition. One of my main aims would be to bring people together, or help make people feel less alone. Every person has a story to tell, yet we're used to seeing the same old stories in films, and have to search for obscure documentaries to see something different to that, yet something we can still all find totally relatable.

As much as those are the films I'd like to create, the films I watch are usually horrors, or horror-comedy's. I'm constantly in search of the most terrifying movie ever made. I look for movies that will make me see the outside world in a different way, make me think twice, or even just have me remembering said film in the dead of night.

I've watched a few tutorials as private study to gain a little bit more stability coming into classes in the coming weeks, as I hate the feeling of being lost or behind when something is being taught. I like to be prepared and know whats coming in order to build upon and learn more.

I finished the book 'In the blink of an eye" by Walter Murch, and read the article 'When the shooting stops'. I find reading books and personal articles like this to be really helpful as the authors are reflecting on their journey, as I hope to do one day.

bottom of page